About the Assembly

The National Assembly for Wales is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and its people, makes laws for Wales, and holds the Welsh Government to account.

The Assembly has three key roles: representing Wales and its people; making laws for Wales; and holding the Welsh Government to account.

There are 60 Members of the National Assembly for Wales: 40 elected to represent a constituency and 20 elected across 5 regions. Elections for the 60 seats in the Assembly take place every five years.